SNES RPGs and PC Murderfests

I got a text this afternoon from my friend whose wife works at the local thrift shop.  He had a tip for me from his wife: a whole bunch of SNES RPGs in their boxes had just been put out at the store.  I texted him back while I was fumbling down the stairs to get to my car as fast as possible to let him know I was on my way there, thanked him profusely, and got on the road.  The venture to the store was something straight out of a Mr. Bean episode: I hit practically every red light and got stuck behind a guy doing 40 km/h in a 50 km/h zone down a long stretch through town that is hard to pass in.  It felt like a way longer drive than the actual 15 minutes it took me to get there.

When I got to the store, I had to remind myself not to run to the glass case, however tempting it might be.  I also had to remind myself that I was an adult in public with control over my emotions, mostly so I didn’t tip anyone off that I knew ahead of time about the games.  Their store policy explicitly states that “insider info” is a big no-no, and I didn’t want to expose my friend’s wife.  When I finally got to the glass case and peered inside, it was like looking into a dream world.  So many good games were in one place at once at a fraction of the usual cost.  We paid $400 CAD total for everything and thankfully had a discount coupon!  Most of them came with manuals and with their respective maps!  See below for more details on the specifics for what came along each game.

20160525_185928.jpg

Illusion of Gaia: game, manual, map
Lufia & the Fortress of Doom: game, manual, map
Lufia II: Rise of the Sinistrals: game, map
Tecmo: Secret of the Stars: game, photocopied manual
Might and Magic III: Isles of Terra: game, manual
Paladin’s Quest: game, manual, map
Skuljagger: Revolt of the Westicans: game, manual

We also got a loose copy of Paperboy 2, but it was unworthy to be photographed among these other beauties!

In preparation for the game exchange next weekend, I’ve been looking up some SNES RPG titles to see what I should be keeping my eyes open for, and some of these games are now crossed off the list – I live for crossing things off of lists!  I already had loose copies of Illusion of Gaia and Lufia & the Fortress of Doom, but now I have them complete and might consider trading away my loose copies for more expensive and elusive games, like Earthbound or E.V.O. if I can ever find them.  Completely new to me are the other five games.  I’ve heard excellent things about Paladin’s Quest, the Tecmo RPG and Lufia II, so I’m pumped to play those!  I’m really putting a dent into my SNES RPG collecting lately.  I’m really happy about it!

Phew.  I was in a bit of a rut there.  I’m happy I finally found something Super exciting!  Now if only I could play them as fast as they’re coming in.  I’m super slow at playing through games because I like to enjoy them and normally play them blind.  I’m playing through Yoshi’s Island on Twitch these days and going for 100% completion.  You can find my channel at http://www.twitch.tv/hungrygoriya if you’re interested in catching a stream sometime.

In addition to this, we also ran into a whole pile of older PC games at a different thrift store.  My boyfriend, being the lover of all things retro PC, was rightfully excited about all of them.  My personal pick in the pile was Diablo II, a game I’ve played in the past but never finished or owned (I got stuck in the jungle area, lost my body in a cave of spiders, and never managed to keep going after that.)  It came with the original disks and the expansion as well.  Most of the games were in fairly good condition with the exception of the Titanic game, which I picked up mostly as a consequence of watching JonTron’s Titanic/Titenic Saga.  I desperately need to know if this game fits in among those horrendous games, if it works.  We paid $18 CAD for the PC game lot shown below.

20160525_222013

So, all in all, it was a good day for thrifting.  As much as my wallet hurts from the day’s purchases, I will probably still keep looking today and leading up to the weekend before our trip to the game swap.

Thank you for reading.

-GG

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

