Thrifting Finds

My boyfriend and I have lots of thrift store discount cards left to use up before the end of the week, so we headed over there this afternoon.  After only finding a plethora of cheese spreaders and enough light bulbs to last us for at least 10 years for a screaming deal, we decided to visit a few other shops that we don’t frequent as often.  One of the stores we normally avoid is a local thrift store run by a middle-aged man.  The store itself was unpleasant to be inside of for a time in the recent past.  There used to be a distinct stuffy, musty odour, and everything in there was dusty or sticky.  It was enough to trigger my allergies on several occasions.  Thankfully, they recently did a big clean-up.

While we were in there, we found a pristine copy of Wizards and Warriors for NES and Mario Kart 64.  The Mario Kart game looked as if a dog had had its way with it.  There are teeth marks in the cartridge plastic itself and a little label damage, but it works!  The aesthetics aren’t as important to me as having the game to put in and play, and that’s one of the ones I had outstanding on my list of things to pick up for the N64.  In addition to this, we also found a Famicom game converter and a copy of Super Mario Bros. 3 for Famicom.   We tested the converter and it doesn’t seem to be working properly.  We are going to give it a good cleaning and hope for the best!  We managed to get all of these things for $60 inclusive, no taxes.

Our third stop of the day was a hock shop that I absolutely loathe.  In their display case, they’ve had my coveted Minish Cap and Link’s Awakening DX complete in their boxes (asking $80 each!!!) for almost 6 months now, and nobody will buy either of them because they’re so overpriced.  They have lots of other overpriced retro games in their case as well, many of which I have an interest in buying but am unwilling to pay their heinous asking prices.  They did have a copy of Final Fantasy Tactics for PS1 that I had been eyeballing for a few months with a price tag of $15.  After asking to see it, I noticed that it was missing the booklet: someone had done up a print out of the cover art and stuck it in there instead, much to my dismay.  I told the guy that I wasn’t going to pay $15 for no booklet and a beat up disc, so he buffed the disc for me and took off $5.  I was happy because this was the first time this store has ever negotiated with me on price, even though I feel that I’ve always been reasonable in my requests in the past.  I happily made off with the last game that I needed to complete my Final Fantasy collection (I think).

20160601_185719.jpg

Oddly enough, the drive home was one of the most exciting parts of our adventure.  My boyfriend passed up on buying a flat screen CRT TV about half a year ago at the Salvation Army and has had some deep regrets ever since.  Thankfully, we drove by one today with a big “Free” sign on it.  After some tactical traffic maneuvering, we checked it out and it had all the hookups he had been looking for and more!  It was a heavy beast, but we managed to get it into the car and brought it home.  We are now the proud owners of a 27-inch flat screen CRT, which will greatly improve our retro gaming experience in our Nerd Room.

20160601_185810.jpg

Most convenient of all was that the remote control for our smaller CRT currently installed in the room also works with this new TV.  As usual, our inaugural test was to plug in Sonic 2, a game well-loved by both of us.  So, so smooth!

So there you have it.  Surprises around every corner!  You never know what you’ll stumble upon on the side of the road.  Now we have to do some finagling to get everything to fit since this TV is five inches bigger than the old one.  Hopefully we can swing it.  I really love how things are organized now and would hate to have to take it all apart again!

I hope you are all enjoying this lovely summery weather.  Thanks so much for reading!

-GG

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

