Trades: When One Game Becomes a New Game

I mentioned the other day that when I picked up my boxed copy of Paper Mario, I also picked up another loose copy of the game because it was the right price.  I often do this so that if a trading opportunity comes up, I have some good collateral to put up against other sought-after games that I might want but don’t want to spend money to get.  An opportunity came up when I saw the same ad go up for what felt like the millionth time on the local buy and sell.  A guy was selling a lot of SNES/N64 games, but most of the games he had there we already own or just plainly didn’t want at all.  I decided to email him about his Super Adventure Island game with its manual to see if he might be willing to do a trade instead.  He said yes!  When I told him I could trade him Paper Mario or Ocarina of Time for the game and its manual, he was pretty excited.  We met him the next day, and this happened:

Picture1

It was like my second copy of Paper Mario transformed and became new again in an excellent way.  I’m a bit of an Adventure Island II junkie and will play that game in spurts until I grow weary of dying on Dinosaur Island and give up again for a little while.  I was happy to add this one to my collection from this franchise.  Next, I also really want to track down Adventure Island III for NES.  It’s one of those things where the price just isn’t right at the moment.

The guy I traded with also picked up my extra copy of Illusion of Gaia.  Like me, he is also after many SNES RPGs.  I would’ve normally hung onto it for trading purposes, but he was just such an enthusiast about gaming that I couldn’t help but help him out (he said he has a glass case where he displays his favourite games… so nerdy!  I love it!)  He did offer me his boxed copy of EVO: Search for Eden for SNES at market price if I wanted to buy or trade for it.  Unfortunately, I can’t justify trading away half my collection to afford that one, nor can I justify taking out well over $500 for one game!!!  To have it complete would be pretty cool, but I just can’t do it.  I think I’ll wait to see if I can find it on its own in a garage sale bin or something.  Hopefully Adventure Island III and all the other games I want will magically be in the bin too!

This weekend, I’m going to a yard sale to end all yard sales.  It’s a Gaming Yard Sale in the next town that’s going to start at the dreadfully early time of 8 a.m.  The drive will take a few hours, so I’m going to get up at or before Dawn’s Crack and try to be there for start time tomorrow.  Wish me luck!

Thank you for reading!  Hopefully I’ll have some exciting news following this weekend’s adventures.  If I don’t end up posting beforehand, I hope all you dads out there have a lovely Father’s Day this Sunday.

-GG

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

