Classifieds Finds: GameCube + Accessories

My boyfriend and I were perusing video game ads on the local buy and sell site last night, and lo and behold… there was a GameCube for sale for $20.  At first glance with no controllers or games and no sign of an AV cable, it didn’t look like much of a deal.  Then my boyfriend noticed the Game Boy Player attached to the bottom.  Although not too hard to come by, the price on those seems to be going up and up.  I bought one a few years ago at a swap for $60 on its own before I even owned a GameCube, and personally I feel like the Game Boy Player is one of the greatest inventions of all time.  I have no personal beef with handhelds, but I hate the neck strain from staring down at a screen for hours on end.  The problem with the ad was that there was no sign of a start-up disc in the photo.  Like many disc-based consoles, the GameCube has to be “tricked” into thinking that it has a real game disc in it before it’ll run any of the Game Boy, Game Boy Colour or Game Boy Advance games in the Player itself.  Without the disc, the Game Boy Player is useless.  I phoned the lady right away to let her know we were interested in picking it up at her earliest convenience.  When I inquired about whether or not there was a disc for the player, after a brief interlude of rummaging noises, she managed to find it.  Today, we drove for just under an hour to her house and picked up everything.  In the picture below, you can see the GameCube with the Game Boy Player attached on the bottom, the GameCube manual, the start-up disc and its box, as well as three cords that weren’t mentioned at all in the ad (as usual, I didn’t include any ugly power cords in the photo).

20160720_165119

There were three kinds of surprise link cables.  The first on the right links two Game Boy Advances to one another, and also has a female Game Boy Advance port in the middle of the cable (I’m not quite sure what that’s used for… maybe a third player?).  The cord in the middle of the photo has two kinds of jacks and links either two Game Boys or two Game Boy Colours.  The last one on the right is the cable that allows for Game Boy Advance to connect to the GameCube.  There were a few other cords in the bag that I wasn’t sure about, but it turns out that we also got a 12V car jack power cord for the original Game Boy as well.  This will be potentially useful for long car rides which we seem to take rather often these days!

In addition to this great find, about two weeks ago, I managed to get Super Mario Sunshine for GameCube from a hock shop out of town for $30.  I had a tough go getting this one for the price I wanted.  They initially had it marked at $50, but I managed to get them down to $30 by complaining about the scratches on the disc’s surface.  I conveniently picked up a strategy guide for this game a few months back, so now I have a complete set!

20160720_165302.jpg

Getting this game from that particular hock shop was actually a pretty miserable experience.  Without getting into a long-winded account, the shop owner basically accused me of buttering him up to get a deal because I was acting nicely towards him and being a bit assertive.  I am genuinely an extremely polite and professional person, so if people think I’m flirting with them because I’ve treated them kindly, that’s not my fault, right?  At least I got a deal out of it, though it feels like an ill-gotten gain in some ways.

Thar she blows!  The pickings have been extra slim lately, so I have been unable to update as regularly as I would like to.  It also doesn’t help that I’m starting to really round out my collection, and although there’s stuff to buy up, I already have a lot of what I want already.

I also wanted to say thanks to I Heart Old Games and Critical Teatime for nominations for the Liebster Award.  I have a large portion of the post written already, but I’m having a tough time coming up with my own questions.  Keep your eyes peeled for that shortly.

Thanks so much for reading!

-GG

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Classifieds Finds: GameCube + Accessories

  1. Mr. Panda says:

    That is so awesome! I used the Game Boy Player so much years ago. I actually preferred it to the GBA since I usually played at home anyway. I enjoyed playing on a big TV screen as opposed to the dark GBA. You sure lucked out on this find! Super Mario Sunshine is also a great find. It makes for a good summer game too!

    Liked by 2 people

    • hungrygoriya says:

      I was so, so excited! It was a steal for the price considering how expensive the GBP is on its own. I’m really glad the seller didn’t increase her price after I let her know about that add-on. I’m very excited about Super Mario Sunshine, too! I’ve never played it even a little, so it’ll be a wonderful treat considering I’ll be stuck inside for a bit. We’re due for thunderstorms for the next few days.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. benez256 says:

    Good, your collection is growing!!!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Nice find! Good opportunity to try out Skies of Arcadia Legends!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great finds! The GameCube was a really underrated machine, and the fact that you could play Game Boy/Advance games on it with the add-on was awesome.

    Liked by 1 person

    • hungrygoriya says:

      Thank you! I’m really looking forward to giving the Game Boy Player a whirl, as well as finally getting down to playing some GameCube games! I’ve found some great games for the Game Boy handhelds as of late and I’ve been itching to play them.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. peachybaws says:

    I really need to get myself a gamecube at some point! I aim to have my very own collection of retro gaming gear in the future, and I just remember sitting round my friends’ house as a kid and playing super Mario sunshine (coincidentally) on his gamecube 😀 But yeah, absolutely awesome find! And for only $20!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

