Full of Funk and Punny as Heck: Sega Acquisitions

There are a few games that I used to rent constantly as a kid, and one of them was Toejam and Earl in Panic on Funkotron for the Sega Genesis.  At the last few swaps, I’ve felt a bit like a broken record while asking almost every vendor for that game.  Anyone that had a copy didn’t have it in the condition that I wanted or was asking a ridiculous price for only the cartridge.  Things started looking up when someone in town had a complete-in-box copy of the game.  Unfortunately when I inquired about buying it, the guy selling suddenly changed his mind despite my best efforts to convince him that he should part with it.  His friend had told him that because it had its box and manual that it was a collector’s item and that he shouldn’t sell.  Sigh.  I bet it’s just sitting in his closet at home collecting dust.  After months with no luck searching for the game in the wild, I decided to bite the bullet and buy it with its box and manual online.  In addition to that game, I also ended up buying Earthworm Jim on Sega Genesis for my boyfriend.  We have the Super Nintendo version of Earthworm Jim, but it’s simply not as good or fun as the Sega version!  Here’s a picture of both games:

20160803_124931

Both of these games captured my heart for similar reasons in my childhood.  Graphically, they are stunning.  Especially notable in Toejam and Earl, the quirkiness of the areas you play through are bright and colourful, as well as interesting with lots of interactivity.  There are so many different mechanics to implement in both games that it keeps things feeling fresh in each and every level.  Most importantly for me was the music.  I’ve never played a game so funk-filled as Toejam and Earl.  Its soundtrack is extremely unique from most other games from its time.  Earthworm Jim’s soundtrack is also packed with many varying music genres ranging from country to classical.  It was in fact the first game in which I heard recognizable classical music: Beethoven’s Moonlight Sonata backs the hilariously named level The Villi People (Earthworm Jim has to traverse internal organs, complete with villi… very punny!)  Both games are wonderful in their own right, and I’m happy to own them both!

The next swap is coming up quickly, so I’m hoping to get some new goodies soon.  I’ve been spending many evenings lately watching King of the Hill, but hopefully I’ll get back into a gaming groove soon.

Thanks for reading!

-GG

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Full of Funk and Punny as Heck: Sega Acquisitions

  1. Mr. Panda says:

    Ooh! I never really got a chance to play the original Earthworm Jim, which is sad. I’ve always wanted to experience it. I have played Toejam and Earl thanks to Virtual Console. I appreciate its funk level, but it was kind of difficult for me to get into. Still, these were some visually impressive games. Sounds like you have a lot of fun at these swap meets, I tell you h-what.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Earthworm Jim was one of my favourite “Mega Drive” games (hurray for European console names!) and i played it and its sequel pretty regularly. In fact, the second game is the game I first discovered a cheat code in myself completely by accident.

      Liked by 2 people

      • hungrygoriya says:

        Ah yes… the Mega Drive! I’ve seen the occasional Mega Drive game floating around in flea markets and wondered if they were compatible with the North American Genesis. I haven’t tried it out yet though. How did you chance upon a cheat code? That’s some pretty good luck!

        Like

      • I doubt they’d work without having some sort of modded system, but I’m not sure! With the cheat, I just so happened to have the game paused and pressed a few buttons on the controller and had my health put back up to 100. Pure chance!

        Liked by 1 person

      • hungrygoriya says:

        I love when that sort of lucky thing happens! Developers took so much time to plan out all those little details for people to find. I think it’s pretty neat.

        Liked by 1 person

    • hungrygoriya says:

      Hey hey hey (in Peggy’s Fat Albert impression voice)… I highly recommend Earthworm Jim if you can get your hands on a copy. Its humour is truly unique! I can understand not being able to get into Toejam and Earl. For me, it might be the nostalgia factor that makes me love the game so much. That, and a fierce need for closure. I’ve never been able to fully explore and complete the game because I never had it long enough in one shot… stupid rental deadlines! It’s something that I have to finish to put that part of my childhood to rest.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love Earthworm Jim! I have the SNES version, but I’ve never played the Genesis version. I’ll have to buy it if I stumble across it sometime! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

