The One Lovely Blog Award

one-lovely-blog

After only six short months at this blogging thing, I am so humbled and honoured to have been nominated for another blog award: The One Lovely Blog Award.  My Lovely nominator was retr0pia75 who happens to host a ton of great gaming/media content from reviews to rants to lists to retr0spectives!  I would highly recommend sauntering over that way and having a look-see!  Retr0pia75 is also incredibly active on Twitter, so go there too.

The Rules:

  1. Write an article accepting the award.
  2. Thank the person you nominated you and put a link to their blog.
  3. Tell the reader seven facts about yourself.
  4. Nominate other blogs for the award.
  5. Let them know that you nominated them.
  6. Post the rules to let your followers know how it works.

I am always excited to find out more about fellow bloggers and enjoy the opportunity to share a little about myself and my life as well.  Behold the seven facts about myself below!

#1 – I can’t read music.

Despite my best efforts, I’ve never been able to get my head around this arduous task.  I managed to successfully play in several high school bands by writing my notes onto my sheet music and clapping out rhythms and learning by ear using a piano (this was before YouTube existed).  Sight-reading was then and still is my worst nightmare.  As a bonus fact, I started playing the keyboard when I was 4 when one of my siblings got into keyboard lessons.  The first song I ever figured out by ear was Silent Night.

#2 – My first part-time job was at a fast food burger joint.

Back when I was 16, I took my first part-time job in the fast food industry.  I met lots of interesting people and because I was so polite and well-spoken, I often had the pleasure of working on the drive-thru or in-store cashes.  To this day, I still dress my burgers in the same order I was trained there right down to the mustard W on the patty!

#3 – I’ve never dyed my hair.

In all my years as a brunette, I’ve never felt compelled to dye my hair to any other colour.  I’m quite happy with my natural look and can’t imagine dying it until after I have a significant number of greys starting to work their way in.

#4 – I am secretly Hank Hill in a woman’s body.

After the television series drew to a close, many people put away King of the Hill and have never looked back on it.  It remains my favourite television show.  I think this is in part due to how relatable Hank is for me.  His shock and discomfort in social situations is what I go through inwardly all the time!

#5 – I am a Crazy Plant Lady.  I have over 30 plants in my home.

From umbrella trees to African violets, I’ve got ’em all!  Due to the cold and wintery climate of my area of Canada, greenery is scarce for about six months of the year.  I try to compensate for that by filling my home with plants of all kinds.  My favourite plant is by far the prayer plant.  If you’ve never seen one, you should definitely have a look because their name comes from their nightly “praying”.  They’re beautiful.

#6 – I’m incredibly ticklish.

Especially my feet.  Getting a pedicure is an event that I love and hate all at the same time.  My boisterous laughter while having my feet rasped definitely ruins the spa atmosphere for others which is why I will normally treat myself about once a year.

#7 – I never took naps until I lived on my own.

My parents used to link daytime/evening naps with being sick.  If I had a nap and later decided that I wanted to go out with friends, I’d never hear the end of it!  Eventually, I just started fighting off the sleepiness so I could live my life without knocking heads with my family!  When I finally moved out, I started truly appreciating the joy of non-confrontational naps.  Ah, the little joys.

Though these might not be the most interesting or conventional Self-facts out there, I hope that you enjoyed them.  My nominations for the One Lovely Blog Award are as follows:

Next Level Reviews

Falcon Reviews
I Heart Old Games

Thank you very much for reading and for the continued support in this blogging venture of mine!
A little update on the retro game collecting: I am currently trying to snag an enormous game lot of 450+ games/consoles from a man who is getting rid of his entire collection at once.  Wish me luck!
-GG
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to The One Lovely Blog Award

  1. Congrats! And best of luck for getting that game collection!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Good god I miss daytime naps!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Congrats on the award, well deserved !! Thanks for the nomination, haven’t blogged recently due to moving back to university but I shall get on this 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Congrats on the award!

    My first job was at Tim Hortons. It taught me how fussy some people are with coffee… I’d love to hear your opinions on “Propane and propane accessories” lol

    That sounds like an amazing score of games. I hope you get it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • hungrygoriya says:

      Tim Horton’s sounds like it’d be an okay job to have, but I imagine people are pretty overwhelming with their expectations.

      I truly wish I could fully embody everything that Hank Hill is right down to his day job. It’d be fun!

      I will keep everyone posted on that lot. It’s not looking good at the moment since the guy found out that everything is worth approximately $8000 USD, and I’m not willing to spend anything close to that for what he’s offering. We’ll see!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Congrats on the award! I’m not great at reading music either, and I’m so happy other people are in the same boat. I learned to play piano when I was five and was okay at it, but I mostly just memorized the songs so I could play them by memory. I did the same thing in choir. Since we always had accompaniment at least while learning, it wasn’t hard to pick up the melody so I never really had to learn to read it that well. Now if I’m trying to learn a song, I literally write the notes on the paper. I don’t care who’s gonna judge :p

    Aw I wish I could’ve talked to you years ago. I can’t keep any plants alive and I had an African violet given to me by one of my customers when I left my one banking job. Poor Frank. I gave him to a friend to revive, but he eventually died under my bad care anyway.

    Naps are the greatest thing in the world. I plan to take one every Saturday. They are glorious and lovely.

    Good luck getting that console!

    Liked by 1 person

    • hungrygoriya says:

      Thank you! Congratulations on your nomination as well 🙂

      My brain always hurts with music. I did clarinet and alto sax in high school bands and I couldn’t even manage one staff, nevermind two for piano! Sigh.

      Violets are actually hard to please. They don’t like water on their leaves and like to be a little damp, but not too wet. I have one right now that hasn’t flowered since I bought it, and I’ve lost two myself (this was in part due to a long road trip while moving in the middle of a cold snowy January day… the car probably didn’t stay warm enough for them.) I wouldn’t feel too bad! You did your best for poor Frank, and that’s what matters!

      The game/console lot isn’t looking good. He is asking 3x what I offered him, so I doubt I’ll get it. It’s super sad since he has an incredible bunch of games and consoles in excellent condition! If a miracle happens, I’ll let everyone know!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’m not horrible with the treble staff, but the bass eludes me. Thank goodness for the internet. I printing out a copy of the bass and treble staff so I could use it as a reference as I attempted to figure out notes.

        That’s what my friend said! They are apparently very capricious and not a very good beginner’s plant. The other issue is I have two cats who would love to munch on yummy flowers. This means lilies are utterly out…which I’m fine with since I’m quite allergic myself. I do like to pick up poinsettias when the holidays roll around. Contrary to “conventional” wisdom, they’re not actually poisonous to cats! They’ll upset their stomachs, but won’t harm them. I’ll just have a mess to clean up.

        Here’s to hoping you’ll be the best offer as per your latest post about it!

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Mr. Panda says:

    Congratulations on having One Lovely Blog! You definitely earned that award! Also, I approve of your enjoyment of King of the Hill. It’s a great show, I tell you what. Good luck on getting those games and consoles! You always seem to get lucky with them, so I’m not worried! Congrats again on your award!

    Liked by 1 person

    • hungrygoriya says:

      Thank you! I was looking just today into buying the last seven seasons which they took forever to release, and the internet wants $250 for all of them! I will be buying them slowly and hopeful on sale sometime sooner than later.

      The games and console lot is looking a little grim, but I’m still hopelessly optimistic. The guy wants $8000 USD, which is waaaaaay above what I offered him. We’ll see how it all boils down. Maybe everyone will bow out and he’ll be stuck with my one and only offer.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. benez256 says:

    Oh God, I missed this post! And this is strange because I wait everyday for you to write another post as a cat waits the mouse. So first of all thanks for the nominee! 😀 😀 😀 and I wish you an hyper-good luck for your huge offer! I look forward to hear about it. I can’t even imagine purchasing such a huge box of games and consoles!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Abhijit says:

    Congratulations!😄

    Liked by 1 person

  9. vahrkalla says:

    I taught myself guitar at around 8 and I still can’t read any sheet music! YouTube is a godsend…

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Wow, I’ve never dyed my hair either! I had white-blonde hair as a kid, and now as an adult it is still blonde, although it is a few shades darker of course. In the summer it gets pretty light depending on how much I am out in the sun, so I’m pretty content with my hair color!

    Liked by 1 person

    • hungrygoriya says:

      Blonde is a good colour! I think I’d look really weird as a blonde. Also, I don’t know if anyone (including myself!) could accept that huge of a physical transition after only ever being a brunette. As a kid, I had strawberry blonde hair that slowly got darker and darker. In the summer, mine gets some really nice red and blonde highlights, but I wouldn’t trade it for any other colour.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Aww, your hair sounds so pretty! I love my hair color too. I’ve thought about dying my hair black just to go to the complete opposite end of the spectrum, but I don’t think I could ever go through with it lol! You are right, though, it would be a huge physical transition. After over 30 years of the same color, it would be a shock! 😉

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

