Missed Opportunities: Blast to the Past

I know I often post about all the good experiences I have while collecting, but sometimes things go south pretty quickly and I miss out on something amazing.  I have these problems often, but nothing compares to one of the first huge letdowns I ever had when my collecting really took off this past summer.

Many months ago when I first started this blog, I made a few posts talking about a game lot that my boyfriend and I were trying to buy from a seller and how frustrated I was about this particular seller’s etiquette.  The woman selling had initially accepted our offer and took her ad down off of the classifieds site as a reinforcement of our written agreement.  We only had travel arrangements and a pickup location to discuss, and I had given the seller many options since I had taken some time off and could travel freely.  A short time later, despite saying she had removed the ad from the classifieds site, she told us that she had received a better offer from someone else and had agreed to sell to them instead.  Despite my protests and requests for a chance to put in a higher offer, she suddenly stopped emailing me.  It was one of the most frustrating experiences I’ve ever had since many of the cartridges in that lot were extremely rare/uncommon NES games that her and her husband were getting rid of.  They had owned a video store at some point and were finally selling off the end of whatever they had left of their rental stock.  There were about 40 games in total, and I remember some of the games included Little Samson, Action 52, Bubble Bobble 2, Duck Tales 2, Chip and Dale 2, Dragon Warrior IV, etc.  Any rare NES game you can think of (except the Nintendo World Championship cartridges), it was part of this game lot, and from what I understand, the person that ended up with everything only offered them $750, a mere $100 more than what we had originally agreed upon that I would’ve gladly paid in this once-in-a-lifetime opportunity.

Although I didn’t get a chance to save the ad photos of the game cartridges, these are some pictures the seller sent me when offering boxes and manuals to us while we were still negotiating a price.  It makes me so sad to know that this probably all went to a reseller who likely laughed all the way to the bank.

image(2).jpegimage(3).jpeg

I still get a pit in my stomach when I think about missing out on this.  There were some seriously rare and awesome things to be had here, and I ended up getting the shortest possible end of the stick in this non-deal.  I don’t know why I felt compelled to share this after all this time, but I figure in a collecting blog, it’s good to see some of the bad as well.  This is definitely the one that got away.

Thanks for reading!

-GG

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Missed Opportunities: Blast to the Past

  1. benez256 says:

    Uuuuh, what a pity! But don’t worry, in life everything gets better sooner or later, you’ll never know, maybe the seller could have accepted your offer and maybe after you should have found that part of the games were broken. You have to think that it has been better like this, since later you found excellent lots! (loosely based on “My thermodynamical view of life”, by benez256 😀 )

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ouch! That really must have stung. Collecting definitely has its highs and lows. I hope you find something more awesome in the future.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. The lack of etiquette is what really ruffles me. It’s one thing to miss out on a deal due to bad luck or just not being in the right place at the right time, but this was due to poor manners and kind of shady dealing. If she had another seller in mind, she really should’ve told you. I think what probably happened was she had someone who was hemming and hawing so she put up the ad more than likely to spur them along, which you unfortunately answered. Then her person decided to go ahead, and that left you high and dry. Ugh, that would irk the hell out of me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • hungrygoriya says:

      It is still clearly bothering me this long after! I wish I could just post the email conversation to prove that I’m awesome and that this person is just the worst, but that’s just petty. I’ll get over it someday. Maybe I will track down something better, maybe not. Either way, it was an experience that made me a little sharper!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Mr. Panda says:

    Aww sorry to hear, but I admire you for sharing anyway. I think with something like this, there’ll always be ones that get away. But that’s part of the thrill of the hunt, because once you land something awesome, it truly means a lot. Good luck on future opportunities! You’ve been so lucky thus far, and I know you’ll keep surprising us and yourself!

    Liked by 1 person

    • hungrygoriya says:

      Thanks for your optimism here! I’m sure that there will be other opportunities coming up in the near future, especially when things pick up a bit again in a few months. Game hunting has ground to a complete halt, but on the bright side, I finally have some more time to actually play through my games!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Yeesh, that’s awful. Hopefully another (better) opportunity comes along here soon. That would have been a great score if the seller wasn’t such a turd.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. YvoCaro says:

    That’s some serious collecting that you do! The etiquette of the women selling is aweful, very unfair. Once you’ve agreed upon a price, that should be the person the lot goes to. But then, some people only have dollar signs in their eyes!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Omg, I’m so sorry to hear that! A few of these games I’ve never even heard of! What she did was just not in integrity at all.

    Jeez, I wasn’t even there and I’m mad too!
    But don’t worry, you’re gonna find way bigger and way better lots, for way better prices. Take it from The Bargagain Hunter!

    Liked by 1 person

    • hungrygoriya says:

      Thanks for your encouragement. This experience was truly the very worst and set my bar very low for future encounters. I truly hope I do find something as awesome as this again some day because a lot of the games in her lot were actually good! I don’t just collect games when they’re rare or to have a complete collection, but rather to play good games, or games so bad they’re good. Thanks for following my blog, by the way!

      Like

  8. Ugh, people really suck sometimes! That’s frustrating. I hope you will continue to find other awesome deals so you can complete your collection! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

